Another… And Another

The new handmaid came today. Just a few short days after the old “Offred” was taken away in a heavy red bag in one of the black vans. I could not help but notice the symbol for “biohazard” on the side of it. That was all that the government saw her as now, another body to be disposed of. They never make  a big fuss, my husband does not even mention it. There will be more.

It no longer matters where they take her, it no longer matters what happens to her. For all practical purposes, in this place, she no longer exists. I attempted to help her escape in a different way, yet I  am still envious of her own escape. No matter that now, that is another story, and this is mine.

“FOR ALL PRACTICAL PURPOSES, IN THIS PLACE, SHE NO LONGER EXISTS.”

When the new handmaid arrived, I was waiting at the front door for her, watching. I will not lie, it is always difficult for me when a new one arrives. My husband may not be the man I knew before, but he is still my husband, he will still share his bed with this girl at some point.

I instructed the Guardian to leave the girl’s bag on the porch, I did not want the man to linger any longer than necessary. I myself lingered in the doorway, I hope trying to keep the poor girl out of the misery of my home – and away from my husband – as long as possible.

I asked the girl the usual questions, trying to gauge what, or I guess who, I was working with. This society had done this to women, or at least aided the process – seeing these other women as mere objects, as tools. Definitely not as another human being. I am not perfect, I know I have been far from innocent in this matter.

“THIS SOCIETY HAD DONE THIS TO WOMEN, OR AT LEAST AIDED THE PROCESS – SEEING THESE OTHER WOMEN AS MERE OBJECTS, AS TOOLS.”

This is her last chance. She has failed twice before, and my husband, I, am her last chance. I finished our conversation briskly, harshly. No one must suspect anything, not even the girl herself. It is too dangerous. We have to get her out.

She must hate me. I don’t take it personally, because if I’m being honest with myself, I hate her too. But no woman deserves to be stuck here, and I will not allow her to escape like the one before her.

-Serena Joy

Leave a Reply

