What’s in a Name

Serena Joy.  I changed my name to something I thought was better. My real name was Pam. I see now how important a name is. I understand now how important names are.

Back before all this happened I had no idea, but I didn’t know a lot of things before everything happened. I changed my name because I wanted to. It was my own choice to change it. Unlike the handmaids it was my own choice. People used to say  “why did she pick that one?” and I could honestly say because it was my own choice. The handmaids don’t have that choice. I see more handmaids come and go. I don’t know any of their names before. Instead I see more about how messed up our lives are now. They have taken away these girls identities… they’ve taken mine as well.

“They have taken away these girls identities… they’ve taken mine as well.”

Each day these women are subject to very demeaning names. As if they’re possessions and their names are the claiming rights. I won’t stand for it anymore. I want to fight for what we lost. We as women had come far and I made a mistake in trying to force women back into the house. I know exactly how wrong it is now. Now that I am forced to live it I want the chance to right what I did wrong. Maybe one day we can get back to what we had where each woman is her own person. Each women will have her own name. Maybe I will once again be Pam.

– Serena

Leave a Reply

